Theology in Greifswald

Of all the academic disciplines, theology takes the closest look at the entire period of human life on earth and at the related questions regarding the meaning and aim of life, the guidelines for human actions, mankind’s responsibility for the world, the tackling of crises.

Theologians are expected to give founded answers.  That requires commitment. The foundation and centre of theology is the Bible and its interpretation. It is read in the ancient languages of Hebrew and Greek and we continue to make interesting discoveries, even in texts that have been known for years.

Read More

Study

The University of Greifswald is a small and thriving university with rich traditions and valuable works of art. At present there are roughly 10,500 students enrolled at the University, 350 of them at the Faculty of Theology.

The family atmosphere makes studying here a pleasant experience.

In addition to the classical theological disciplines such as Old Testament, New Testament, Church History, Systematic Theology, Practical Theology, Religious Education/Media Education, there are also three institutes that complement research and teaching.

Read More

History

Ernst Lohmeyer Building

Ernst Lohmeyer: The 19th September 2016 marked the 70th anniversary of an event that is specifically linked to the history of our University. On this day, Ernst Lohmeyer, Professor of the New Testament and the first Rector of the Alma Mater after the war, was shot by a Soviet military tribunal following false accusations. He was completely exonerated in 1996 by the Attorney-General of the Russian Federation. In 2000, the building which houses the Faculty of Theology on the Rubenowplatz was named after him and in 2015, also the square in the new campus Loefflerstrasse. In October 2016, an international symposium was held in the Krupp Kolleg focussing on the current state of research around the life and work of Ernst Lohmeyer. Contributions from this as well as previously unpublished biographical material will be published in the series Greifswalder Theologische Forschungen’ (expected Leipzig 2018).

Read More


Founding Faculty

When the University was founded upon the initiative of the lawyer and mayor Heinrich Rubenow in Greifswald Cathedral in 1456, it included two Professors of Theology from the very beginning. The Faculty of Theology is one of the founding faculties of the University and today has approx. 400 students.

Read More

Theologische Fakultät im Ernst-Lohmeyer-Haus



Theologie in Greifswald

Theologie hat mehr als andere Wissenschaften die ganze Lebensspanne des Menschen auf Erden vor Augen und die damit verbundenen Fragen nach dem Sinn und dem Ziel des Lebens, nach Richtlinien für sein Handeln, nach seiner Verantwortung für die Welt, nach der Bewältigung von Krisen.

Darauf sollen Theologen begründet Antwort geben können. Das erfordert Anstrengung. Basis und Zentrum der Theologie ist die Bibel und ihre Auslegung. Sie wird in den Ursprachen Hebräisch und Griechisch gelesen, wobei wir auch in längst bekannten Texten immer wieder spannende Entdeckungen machen.

Weiterlesen

Studium

Die Universität Greifswald ist eine kleine, aber sehr lebendige Universität mit reichen Traditionen und wertvollen Kunstschätzen. Derzeit sind ca. 10.000 Studierende immatrikuliert, etwa 300 davon an der Theologischen Fakultät.

Die Atmosphäre ist fast familiär, die Studienbedingungen sind in dieser Hinsicht außerordentlich günstig.

Neben den klassischen theologischen Disziplinen Altes Testament, Neues Testament, Kirchengeschichte, Systematische Theologie, Praktische Theologie sowie Religionspädagogik/Medienpädagogik gibt es drei Institute, die Forschung und Lehre bereichern.

Weiterlesen

Geschichte

Ernst-Lohmeyer-Haus

Ernst Lohmeyer: Am 19. September 2016 jährte sich zum 70. Mal ein Gedenktag, der in besonderer Weise mit der Geschichte unserer Universität verbunden ist. Ernst Lohmeyer, Professor für Neues Testament und nach Kriegsende erster Rektor der alma mater, wurde an diesem Tag von einem sowjetischen Militärtribunal aufgrund falscher Anschuldigungen erschossen. 1996 erfolgte seine vollständige Rehabilitierung durch den Generalstaatsanwalt der Russischen Föderation. Seit dem Jahr 2000 trägt das Gebäude der Theologischen Fakultät am Rubenowplatz seinen Namen, seit 2015 auch der Platz auf dem neuen Campus Loefflerstraße. Ein internationales Symposium im Krupp-Kolleg (Oktober 2016) galt dem jüngsten Forschungsstand zu Leben und Werk Ernst Lohmeyers. Diese Beiträge, erweitert um bislang unveröffentlichte biographische Materialien, liegen inzwischen publiziert vor: Ernst Lohmeyer. Beiträge zu Leben und Werk, hg. von Christfried Böttrich, GThF 28, Leipzig 2018.

weiterlesen

Die Gründungsfakultät

Als 1456 auf Initiative des Juristen und Bürgermeisters Heinrich Rubenow im Greifswalder Dom die Universität gegründet wurde, waren auch zwei Professoren der Theologie schon mit dabei. Die Theologische Fakultät ist eine Gründungsfakultät. Heute zählt die Theologische Fakultät ca. 400 Studierende.

Weiterlesen